Jump to content

Photo

bmw e46 speaker cable routing?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 malcb50

malcb50

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Location:whitehaven cumbria

Posted 12 Jul 2013 - 23:01

I am going to fit a four channel amp to my e46 saloon but cant work out how to route new speaker cable into the front doors.The kick pannel thing with the bonnet opening handle looks like it needs to come off so as to get the cable threaded into the door? but it looks a pig to get off.would it be possible to tie into the oem speaker cables at the head unit(this is how a shop was going to do it)or will it sacrifice some sound quality?The standard wires are quite chunky and have read that people have just joined at head unit because of this.I have an alpine head unit btw.Any help would be great thanks.



#2 cockeral

cockeral

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 398 posts
  • Location:coventry

Posted 13 Jul 2013 - 08:10

the existing e46 wiring to each door has 2 wires.

the door tweeter plugs into the door mid speaker.

so to run the new tweets using x over fitted to the door

then cut the existing wires going to the door and solder wires to them to connect the amp.

 

the kick panels a bit of a biatch to remove but comes off easily,make sure you had your weatabix before doing it.

just undo the bolt,pull away from the car then pull them towards you



#3 alarming Marc

alarming Marc

    ALARMING ENTERTAINMENT

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,264 posts
  • Location:essex

Posted 13 Jul 2013 - 19:11

The BMW OEM wiring is of a good standard and reasonable gauge....so unless you're feeding more than about 100w RMS through them, you'll be OK with the above advice....so get fitting....

ALARMING ENTERTAINMENT
Great Advice
Great Products
Friendly Service
Rubbish Haircut


#4 malcb50

malcb50

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Location:whitehaven cumbria

Posted 13 Jul 2013 - 21:31

Ok thanks lads will do!



#5 heyho

heyho

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,643 posts
  • Location:Cathedral City.

Posted 14 Jul 2013 - 09:35

I went one step further, and pulled the existing speaker wires from the stock headunit plug, then used OEM pins to connect to them, then heatshrink over the top.

 

Just made things neater, and reversible if I ever decide to remove things.  having said that, it's going to be a little trickier reversing the 6" holes in the doors!   :lol:


"There's a naked man, standing laughing in your dreams,

You know who it is...

But you don't like what it means."


#6 malcb50

malcb50

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Location:whitehaven cumbria

Posted 14 Jul 2013 - 09:52

Nice idea heyho! I was thinking of joining both fronts at the headunit as the passenger side of the car is easyer to work from once you have removed the glove box so will have a look at your method cheers.this way i think the cables can be run down one side by removing the trim things down the side by the doors am i right?



#7 heyho

heyho

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,643 posts
  • Location:Cathedral City.

Posted 14 Jul 2013 - 10:13

Yes mate, spot on.

 

It's a little tricky unlocking the existing plug, and you need a pin removal tool, but I think you can pick them up fairly cheaply aftermarket.


"There's a naked man, standing laughing in your dreams,

You know who it is...

But you don't like what it means."


#8 malcb50

malcb50

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Location:whitehaven cumbria

Posted 14 Jul 2013 - 10:31

Thanks again mate very helpful.



#9 cockeral

cockeral

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 398 posts
  • Location:coventry

Posted 14 Jul 2013 - 11:24

sounds a lot of hard work to me..

remove each kick panel = 2 mins per side.

locate and cut speaker wires = 2 mins

solder new wires = 5 mins

 

so 10 mins per side

 

easy to reverse back to oem

SIMPLES



#10 malcb50

malcb50

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Location:whitehaven cumbria

Posted 15 Jul 2013 - 10:40

Cheers i will look at all options lads.I was going to try and push new cables through the flexi gromet thing at first,how hard is this to do?



#11 heyho

heyho

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,643 posts
  • Location:Cathedral City.

Posted 15 Jul 2013 - 20:48

Quite hard.  :P

 

It's actually an electrical connector plug carrying all of the locking/window/airbag wires, so it's not easy to put additional wires through, although it can be done.

 

Easier to use one of the already discussed methods. 


"There's a naked man, standing laughing in your dreams,

You know who it is...

But you don't like what it means."


#12 malcb50

malcb50

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Location:whitehaven cumbria

Posted 16 Jul 2013 - 19:46

Ok thanks again heyho.