Jump to content

Photo

mutant X 12" active sub wiring help needed!


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 bboy90

bboy90

    Registered User

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 26 Jan 2010 - 14:17

Hey guys :) last night i got a mutant X subwoofer for £20 annnd the amp on it doesnt have screw terminals it has like a plug sort of thing for the active rem and ground wire for which no one can seem to get me a plug anyone know how i can get a hold of it iv tried mutant but they seem to be useless thanks in advance :)

#2 Ryan.

Ryan.

    .

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,117 posts
  • Location:wilts

Posted 26 Jan 2010 - 15:32

a pic of the connections would be helpful :)

2008 Street A: 145.8.................................................................2013: Street B: 149.1  - Uk Champion
2009 Street A: 145.9                                                                 2014: Street B: 150.0
2010 2nd in Street C: 138.1 (1 12" + 250wrms)
2011 Street C: 147.9
2011 Monster: 157.8 (12" and 9wrms)
2012 Street B: 148.1

Atomic, Digital Designs - Powered by XS Power


#3 raamaudioukltd

raamaudioukltd

    Trade User

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,953 posts

Posted 26 Jan 2010 - 16:19

banana plugs maybe...pictures and sub model number would help

#4 wayne n

wayne n

    Northern (((Pd))) Judge

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 778 posts
  • Location:west yorkshire

Posted 26 Jan 2010 - 22:41

Have you tried Maplin.

#5 bboy90

bboy90

    Registered User

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 26 Jan 2010 - 23:12

sorry guys didnt have that info when i posted this its this one
http://www.dynamicso...re-p-10472.html


Have you tried Maplin.


Whats maplin?

#6 Sly Boogie :D

Sly Boogie :D

    Applied 4 provisional :D

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,357 posts
  • Location:Gillingham, Kent.

Posted 27 Jan 2010 - 02:11

You'll have 3 cables, +12v, Remote (or Rem) and Ground. +12v goes to your batteries + terminal. Ground goes to any good bolt in the boot. Sand the paint off to bare metal so that where you connect it its a good connection. Rem goes to the blue wire on the back of your headunit. If you dont have this you can cheat and use the red wire but it will mean your amps on all the time your ignition is (whereas the blue one turns it on and off with the headunit).

The red and white phono sockets need an RCA lead from the headunit to the sub. Job done :)


#7 manta

manta

    Banned

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 917 posts
  • Location:dudley

Posted 27 Jan 2010 - 07:46

i think i have a plug ill have a look tonight
east lanc's boys rugby club

#8 urbis

urbis

    Regular Forum User

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,256 posts
  • Location:West Yorkshire

Posted 27 Jan 2010 - 10:09

It's a PCI Express 6 pin plug...

All back to OEM.


#9 bboy90

bboy90

    Registered User

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 27 Jan 2010 - 19:47

thanks for the help guys if i cant get hold of the cable i need for it how can i get the sub out of the box?

#10 manta

manta

    Banned

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 917 posts
  • Location:dudley

Posted 28 Jan 2010 - 09:23

the 1 i have as 4 connections .. if you need these pm you address and ill send it to ya free
east lanc's boys rugby club

#11 urbis

urbis

    Regular Forum User

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,256 posts
  • Location:West Yorkshire

Posted 28 Jan 2010 - 10:04

thanks for the help guys if i cant get hold of the cable i need for it how can i get the sub out of the box?


You need these items:

http://www.maplin.co...?ModuleNo=46857

and

http://www.maplin.co...?ModuleNo=44019 (Female version)

Basically, the 6 pin connector on the top link is what you need, pull the cables out of there and you're left with a plastic housing.

The second link includes the metal pins that go into the plastic housing, these can be attached by pliers to your cable.

This is what I had to do with my Fusion sub, which has the same amp bolted to the side...

All back to OEM.


#12 bboy90

bboy90

    Registered User

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 28 Jan 2010 - 13:41

Thanks guys :) is it safe to use normal speaker wire to hook up the amp to the battery and ground?