Jump to content

Photo

Citroen C3 Pluriel 1.6 Auto - Wont Start - Need Help Urgently


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 seanog5

seanog5

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,699 posts
  • Location:Warrington

Posted 20 Feb 2008 - 19:30

Hi Guys

my girlfriends C3 Pluriel 1.6 Auto wont start :(

it says "ECO MODE" on the radio station display, the battery light is on, and it doesnt show what gear is selected, not even nuetral.

im baffled

it clicks as though it is going to start, but no noise comes from the starter motor, no whining or grinding or anything :(

the engine ECU makes a buzzing sound like my c2, so thats normal

i am mega stuck and searching the net isnt coming up with anything

any of you guys had this or can think of a fix?

#2 Harry Bo

Harry Bo

    Administrator - RIP

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 32,854 posts

Posted 20 Feb 2008 - 19:37

I thought the Eco Mode thing was to stop you flattening the battery with the engine off, but it shouldn't prevent you restarting the engine :neutral:

Never encountered anything like this though; my mum's got a 1.4 manual C3.

HB

Harry Bo tragically passed away in August 2010 aged 26.

As one of the longest serving and most influential TA Administrators he will be sadly missed.


#3 seanog5

seanog5

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,699 posts
  • Location:Warrington

Posted 20 Feb 2008 - 19:39

hmmm - i am going to test with a multimeter tomorrow in the light, the battery

i have a feeling its that, just goin by it just doesnt do a thing, if it isnt that it could be the ECU? :( eeeek

just wanna get it started n to a car dealer n swap the fooker haha

#4 Paintguy

Paintguy

    It's all in the wrist

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,852 posts
  • Location:Sheffield

Posted 20 Feb 2008 - 19:41

Is there plenty of charge in the battery? All sorts of funny things can happen when they start going flat. Try putting on the headlamps - are they as bright as normal?

You've probably tried it, but make doubly sure the gear selector is in Neutral or Park, as the inhibitor switch wont let it start otherwise.

#5 seanog5

seanog5

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,699 posts
  • Location:Warrington

Posted 20 Feb 2008 - 19:42

gear selector is correct

however the brake pedal seems alot harder than normal, it usually depresses a bit - as though you are going to start it then goes softer when started, but its totally rock hard

i hate french cars :(

#6 Rug Doctor

Rug Doctor

    Legend

  • Feedback: View
  • 20,638 posts
  • Location:Farnham, UK

Posted 20 Feb 2008 - 19:44

I think the battery is flat - whack a charger on it overnight.

#7 Beb

Beb

    I needs therapies

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,853 posts
  • Location:Bournemouth

Posted 20 Feb 2008 - 19:45

The brakes are hard because they've been pushed and will be locked like that till the car starts

Eco mode is shown when the battery is running low. Charge it up for a bit, if that doesn't work then remove the +ve battery terminal for a few seconds

i hate french cars :(


You suck at teh french cars :P


Bass Is My Crack


#8 seanog5

seanog5

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,699 posts
  • Location:Warrington

Posted 20 Feb 2008 - 19:53

after thinking a little more about it, it could be just a dead battery, at least i hope so

goin to check it later, and take my jump leads too - fingers crossed it works

thanks guys!

#9 Paintguy

Paintguy

    It's all in the wrist

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,852 posts
  • Location:Sheffield

Posted 20 Feb 2008 - 20:08

however the brake pedal seems alot harder than normal, it usually depresses a bit - as though you are going to start it then goes softer when started, but its totally rock hard

You've just pressed the pedal a few times and 'emptied' the vacuum out of the brake servo. As said above, it'll come right as soon as the engine's running :)

#10 jamiebae

jamiebae

    Registered Abuser

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,180 posts
  • Location:Oxford

Posted 20 Feb 2008 - 20:25

My Mum's Pluriel did all manner of stupid stuff when the battery was on the way out so this doesn't surprise me at all.
Make something idiot proof and someone will make a better idiot

Chuck Norris does not hunt because the word hunting infers the possibility of failure. Chuck Norris goes killing.

#11 Sag

Sag

    @say_gar

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 506 posts
  • Location:Leicester

Posted 20 Feb 2008 - 20:30

turn the ignition to the 2nd click so it is on

Then keep your foot pressed down on the brake pedal for anything upto 2 minutes. You should hear the gearbox engage and disengage. The "-" on the speedo should turn into a "1" at which point you need to turn the key :)

The brake pedal will fully push in once the engine starts
Sag | Audi Q7 S-Line | Tech Pack | Comms Pack | Bose Surround Sound

#12 vegabass

vegabass

    A system's never finished

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,308 posts
  • Location:West Midlands

Posted 20 Feb 2008 - 20:36

The click you're hearing may well be the solenoid of the starter. Probably the battery is flat so it's not got enough power to turn the engine over, only enough to operate the solenoid. Either that or the starter itself is donald ducked, but I doubt it on a newish car.

Remember, if you're cranking it...you'll find that you'll get through more batteries than an all-girl school after an Ann Summers party.

flip her over and play the b side [img]http://www.talkaudio...efault/wink.png[/img]


#13 seanog5

seanog5

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,699 posts
  • Location:Warrington

Posted 20 Feb 2008 - 22:18

right, ive just been pokin about with my multimeter

dead c3 = 12v
dead c3 with lights on full beam = 11v

ok c2 with same engine = 12.7v
ok c2 with same engine with lights on full beam = 12.5v

something deffinately tells me the battery is dead

plus the c3 battery is a bit smaller than my c2 one, yet they have the exact same engines, and mine should use less power than the c3 due to no electric hood! i do have AC and heated seats, but surely it can be that big of a difference

i have a feeling that it has the incorrect battery size

im goin to get a new one in the morning, and hope it works

should as little difference as .7v make it not even wanna try turning over?

thanks guys you have been great!

#14 seanog5

seanog5

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,699 posts
  • Location:Warrington

Posted 20 Feb 2008 - 22:22

this could explain it!

Open Circuit Voltage (12V) Approximate charge
12.65 V 100%
12.45 V 75%
12.24 V 50%
12.06 V 25%
11.89 V 0%

win or fail?

#15 c33kay

c33kay

    Regular lurker

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,589 posts
  • Location:SW London

Posted 20 Feb 2008 - 23:16

should as little difference as .7v make it not even wanna try turning over?


Thing is.. it won't be 0.7V when you crank it. The current draw is huge, so a battery with no charge will drop to much lower than that with the current. In the same way a large amp will drop volts on heavy bass.
*Chris

Lexus IS200SE | Stock Audio

#16 Sag

Sag

    @say_gar

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 506 posts
  • Location:Leicester

Posted 21 Feb 2008 - 00:02

turn the ignition to the 2nd click so it is on

Then keep your foot pressed down on the brake pedal for anything upto 2 minutes. You should hear the gearbox engage and disengage. The "-" on the speedo should turn into a "1" at which point you need to turn the key :)

The brake pedal will fully push in once the engine starts


Dude, try this before you head out for a new battery! Apologies if you allready have!
Sag | Audi Q7 S-Line | Tech Pack | Comms Pack | Bose Surround Sound

#17 seanog5

seanog5

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,699 posts
  • Location:Warrington

Posted 21 Feb 2008 - 09:12

im gonna throw my battery in it in a bit, and see what happens

will do the "pedal" thing aswell :)

sean

#18 seanog5

seanog5

    Regular Member

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,699 posts
  • Location:Warrington

Posted 21 Feb 2008 - 11:24

Dude, try this before you head out for a new battery! Apologies if you allready have!



Wideboy,

you are a genius

i tried this last night, i obviously didnt do it for long enough

today i linked my car to the c3 to jump it, nothing happened

so i did what you said

heard it start clicking etc,

and voila, the dash said N :D

i was like, no way! changed gear and it went up n down

so i started the fooker, first time!

i owe you a pint mate!

still, if its done this twice, i dont know what to do, she loves the c3, but i am unsure about the auto feature :( as this must be faulty

citroen want £69.99 + vat to do a diagnostic test, which could show nothing!

cheers!

#19 Sag

Sag

    @say_gar

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 506 posts
  • Location:Leicester

Posted 21 Feb 2008 - 17:52

Wideboy,

you are a genius

i tried this last night, i obviously didnt do it for long enough

today i linked my car to the c3 to jump it, nothing happened

so i did what you said

heard it start clicking etc,

and voila, the dash said N :D

i was like, no way! changed gear and it went up n down

so i started the fooker, first time!

i owe you a pint mate!

still, if its done this twice, i dont know what to do, she loves the c3, but i am unsure about the auto feature :( as this must be faulty

citroen want £69.99 + vat to do a diagnostic test, which could show nothing!

cheers!



No probs buddy :)
It's quiet common on the sensodrive box when the car goes into eco-mode.

Rather than getting it into citroen, try and look up an auto-electrician in the yellow pages and see if someone will be willing to give it a quick scan over.
Citroen have a habit of fobbing people off on Sensodrive gearbox issues, as i've found out!
Sag | Audi Q7 S-Line | Tech Pack | Comms Pack | Bose Surround Sound

#20 stig247

stig247

    Regular ear basher

  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,267 posts
  • Location:Bradford

Posted 21 Feb 2008 - 18:08

i was going to mention you can reset it some how but couldnt remember how to do it, it has been nearly 2 years since i left citroen probably why i couldnt remember
2007 = 147.2db
2008 = 0.00db >> driving a useless car

Project Bora = failed